God calling

I was 18 years old when I candidated for ordained ministry – and was accepted. I’d made that decision when I was 16 and had mentors who helped me work towards engaging in the church’s processes from then on.  Thanks Dad. Thanks Colville. Thanks Don. Thanks Bob. Thanks Rollie. I began my training at 19. I wasn’t ordained until I was nearly 26, but that’s another story.

I know there are young adults in the UCA who are being called to this strange, amazing, difficult, delicious life today too, but I fear that we have developed a culture of (hands over ears) la, la, la, la, la when it comes to God calling them.

So I’ve been trying to get a conversation about this going in South Australia. One of the things I’ve done is to share this Discussion Paper with the relevant committees.  I’d love to know what you think.

PS Apologies for the jargon and acronyms.

Teresa Jordan The Annunciation

“The Annunciation” by Teresa Jordan

